Points Calculator for Australia Immigration under Skilled Independent Category

The Skilled Independent category is also known as a Skilled Sponsored category

The below categories under Skilled Independent visa are for people who wish to migrate to Australia.

  1. Skilled independent (subclass 189)
  2. Skilled nominated (subclass 190)
  3. Skilled sponsored (subclass 457)
  4. Skilled sponsored (subclass 489)
  5. Skilled regional sponsored (subclass 187)

Foreign migrants applying for Australian Immigration through General Skilled Migration route must clear a Point test. The parameters or Points Calculators for this test are :

  • Age
  • Australian study requirement
  • English proficiency
  • Overseas and Australian skilled employment
  • Credentialed community language
  • Qualifications
  • Regional Australian study
  • Professional year
  • Partner/spouse skills

If the applicant is aged between 18- 24 years, he/she will be granted highest score of 25 marks, for candidates between 25 and 32, 30 marks are allotted. People between the age of 33 and 39 years score 25, and in age of 40 and 44 years are granted 15 units, presently applicants above 45 years are not awarded any marks.

Language Tests

The English language proficiency is compulsory for Australian immigration applicants and must have hold on any of the official languages. The language proficiency is calculated by points IELTS band score. In order to migrate down-under, the IELTS is calculating the unit evaluation of the application. A maximum of 20 marks allocated under the superior level. The proficient level person will get 10 points, and a competent level applicant will get zero points. Hence to score highest the candidate should have a high level language skill.

The points for work experience are divided based the number of years of experience, the field in which the person is expertise, and the nation where experienced. The person should have an experience in the nominated occupation or in a closely related occupation.

If the person is experienced in Australia then the marks are allotted as follows: 

  1. No experience – 0
  2. One year – 5
  3. three years – 10
  4. Five years – 15
  5. Eight years – 20

If the person is experienced from out of Australia then the marks are allotted as follows:

  1. No experience – 0
  2. Three years – 5
  3. Five years – 10
  4. Eight years – 15

The qualification must be form any of the Australian universities or recognized overseas. Qualification entitles:

  1. Not recognized – 0
  2. Offshore recognized apprenticeship, AQFIII/IV completed in Australia or Diploma completed in Australia – 10
  3. Bachelors degree and above – 15
  4. PhD – 20

There are other additional features as mentioned below:

  1. Partner skills – 5
  2. Sponsored by territory or state government – 5
  3. Designated language – 5
  4. Professional year – 5
  5. Studied in regional area – 5
  6. Sponsorship by family or state or territory government to regional Australia – 10

The pass mark currently is 65. Visit AHWC Immigration to know more about Australian Immigration.

Related Posts

Leave A Comment